Why I love my slow cooker

This morning I gathered up my two progeny, who (this being school holidays) have comfortably slipped into a routine of mooching around in their PJs until lunchtime and taking 3 hours to eat breakfast (in between kite flying, watering the garden and playing Uno), managed to get them dressed and breakfasted, and headed out for a day in the city. Before we left, I tossed into my trusty slow cooker:

  • 1 diced onion
  • 1 crushed garlic clove
  • 1/2 minced chilli
  • a container of defrosted pinto beans (I cook my beans in bulk and freeze them in small containers)
  • three diced eggplants
  • 5 diced zucchini
  • 1 diced red capsicum
  • 1 can tomatoes
  • big blob of tomato paste (yes, that’s an official metric measure)
  • handful of pitted, sliced olives
  • 3 diced sun-dried tomatoes

After a fun-filled day at the National Maritime Museum, during which I established beyond any doubt that I am not cut out to be a submariner, we stumbled home from the railway station at 6.30 pm to find…. a kitchen fragrant with the aroma of slow-cooked vegies, and dinner all ready to dish up. That’s why I love my slow cooker! The humblest ingredients are transformed by the alchemy of slow cooking, into a delicious meal – and all I have to do is chop vegies. My kinda cooking!

Visit my website for more great recipes and info.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Deb Morgan on July 16, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Hi Robyn, I just wanted to find out if the beans you cook yourself are better for you than the canned ones? I soaked a 4 bean mix overnight and then boiled them for what seemed like forever (the packet said about 20 minutes but it was more like 2 hours). They did turn out well in the end but hubby was going on about wasting electricity. With the canned ones I only buy the ones that have the beans, water and salt, then I rinse them under clean water to get as much of the salt off as I can. Which is better?

    Reply

  2. Hi Deb
    Beans that you cook yourself have a lower glycaemic index than the canned, and of course a lower salt level than canned. Rinsing removes much of the salt from canned beans but some is actually cooked into them. Some of the organic canned bean brands have no added salt. Cooking times for dry beans can be reduced either by soaking for a longer period (up to a couple of days, changing the soaking water every 12 hours) OR by boiling the beans for 1 minute then leaving them to soak for several hours or overnight. The initial boiling increases the penetration of the water into the beans.
    Cheers

    Reply

Leave a Reply

