Vegan shopping list

A client asked me if I could prepare a shopping list of vegan staples. What a great idea (thanks Josh!).

Here are the foods I make sure I have in the fridge, freezer and pantry at all times:

  • onions – brown for cooking, + Spanish for salads
  • frozen peas and spinach
  • frozen berries
  • fresh garlic
  • fresh ginger
  • several varieties of dry legumes e.g. chick peas, kidney beans, lentils – good fruit and veg shops have these in money-saving 1 kg packs
  • a few cans of legumes
  • canned tomatoes (no added salt)
  • tomato paste (no added salt)
  • brown rice
  • quinoa
  • rolled oats (traditional, not quick oats)
  • polenta
  • wholemeal spelt flour for baking
  • several varieties of nuts (e.g. Brazils, almonds, cashews) and seeds (e.g. pepitas, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, linseed)
  • a wide range of dried herbs and spices including oregano, basil, turmeric, cumin, coriander, paprika, cinnamon, cardamom, dehydrated onion flakes
  • cacao and carob powder
  • and of course, a wide variety of seasonal fresh fruit and vegetables, which form the centrepiece of every meal in our household.

What about you? What healthy staple would you absolutely not be without? Post a comment and share your must-haves!

Visit my website for more info and great recipes.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Deb Morgan on July 8, 2010 at 2:21 am

    I also like to have long life soy or rice milk, pasta, rice or corn thins, unhulled tahini, and nut butters (although you probably make your own).

    Reply

    • Good point Deb. I make my own rice milk, peanut butter, ABC (almond, Brazil and cashew) and macadamia spread in my Thermomix. Yesterday I made a delicious almond and dried apricot spread. Yum!

      Reply

  2. Here’s how I make it in my Thermomix: http://www.aweber.com/b/1gqkS. I think you could grind the rice and seeds/nuts in a coffee grinder or nut mill instead, then mix with water and cook on low heat,stirring constantly. I haven’t tried it this way so won’t vouch for the results! But it’s absolutely superb when made in the Thermomix and couldn’t be easier.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Louise Blake on July 13, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    Thanks for this one, Robyn! Now I am on a quest to find out what some of these things are, get them in my pantry & then actually eat them!

    I would also add dried fruit, which I have with my morning porridge, made with water & rice milk.

    By the way, my kids are getting used to a variety of beans now….who would have thought??

    Reply

  4. Yes, I’m so glad you mentioned them. I always have sultanas, dates, dried figs and apricots.They make great sweet treats instead of processed, sugary rubbish!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

