John’s world-famous vegan lasagna

Everything John makes is world-famous. (I have just learned to accept this ;).) But I’d better not say anything nasty because he’s going to be typing the rest of this post. Take it away, John.

OK. For this one you’ll need (quantities approx. only – I don’t measure anything):

2 packets wholemeal lasagna sheets (I use San Remo brand)

400 gm red lentils

2 cans crushed tomatoes

4 tablespoons (no added salt) tomato paste

1/2 medium red capsicum

packet frozen chopped spinach

8 button mushroons

6 slices grilled eggplant

6 pitted kalamata olives

Tabasco

small jar cooked artichokes

2 packs soft tofu

splash of soy or rice or oat milk

Just boil lentils in very large saucepan;  chop all ingredients fairly finely (if buying any ingredients e.g. eggplant or artichokes, in oil, then drain excess oil thoroughly); mix and cook on medium heat.

Stick tofu & milk in Thermomix or food processor and mix on high speed.

Layer in large non-stick baking tray: lasagna sheet layer, then mix layer, another lasagna sheet layer, another mix layer, then top with tofu mix. Sprinkle some paprika on top.

Bake about 40 mins medium heat.

Note: I’ve found with most baking trays you’ll need one more lasagna sheet than you’ll get in a pack – hence need for 2 packs.

Visit my website for more info and great recipes.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Deb Morgan on July 7, 2010 at 8:04 am

    What size tin of tomatoes?
    I have to say I’m throughly enjoying all these blogs:) And while not vegan we are definitely eating healthier. My shopping trolley yesterday looked like a veggie and bean/lentil trolley (apart from pet food).

    Reply

    • 400 g can. Checking out other people’s trolleys is my version of seeing a horror movie these days!

      Reply

      • Posted by Deb Morgan on July 8, 2010 at 2:12 am

        ha, ha, ha – that’s funny. Horror movie right there in the supermarket, shocking me right out of my brain…I actually don’t know how people afford all that prepackaged stuff.

Leave a Reply

