Slow cooker thingy

Well, I survived the first day of the school holidays, but it took so much out of me that I forgot to post last night ;). Just kidding. Actually yesterday was the first day in weeks that I’ve had time in the morning to prepare something for the slow cooker. I love my slow cooker, because I can just chuck things into it, leave it there all day to simmer, and the meal turns out as if I’ve put some effort into it.

So, last night’s meal consisted of 1 onion, 1 clove of garlic, 1 eggplant, 2 zucchini, 1/4 red and 1/2 yellow capsicum, 100 g fresh shiitake and 200 g button mushrooms, 200 g green beans , 1 can tomatoes, 400 g cooked chick peas and 3 tbsp tomato paste, plus about a cup of cooking liquid I saved from the chick peas. I cooked it on low heat for 8 hours and served it over steamed quinoa. Yummy!!! The texture of shiitake mushrooms is superb.

We had a very special occasion to celebrate last night, so I also made this spectacular Hawaiian Pineapple Cake from http://www.drfuhrman.com’s Member Center (I’ve Australianised the recipe). I decorated it with passionfruit and pineapple pieces but unfortunately it got eaten before I could take a photo.

Ingredients:
2 cups wholemeal flour (I used spelt)
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2  cups dates
1 cup mashed pumpkin or sweet potatoes
240 g can crushed pineapple packed in own juice, undrained
1/2 cup pineapple or orange juice
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
CASHEW NUT TOPPING
1 1/3 cups raw cashew nuts
1 cup rice milk
1/2 cup dates, pitted
DECORATION (optional)
organic strawberries, sliced
1 small can crushed pineapple, drained

Instructions:
Sift the flour and baking powder together. Blend the dates, mashed pumpkin or sweet potato and crushed pineapple, juice and vanilla extract until smooth. Stir in flour and walnuts.

Line  22 cm X 30 cm pan with baking paper. Spread the batter evenly in the pan and bake at 180 degrees for 35 minutes, or just until a wooden toothpick inserted in cake comes out clean.

While cake is baking, make the topping by blending the nuts and then adding the rice milk and dates and blending until smooth.

When cake is done, remove from oven and let cool on a rack for 10 minutes, then invert cake onto the cooling rack. When completely cool, carefully move cake to a flat dish and spread cashew nut “icing” on top & sides. If you desire, you may decorate with fresh strawberries and crushed pineapple (make sure to drain the pineapple well).


One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kim Redmond-Fewtrell on July 4, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    Hey! Talk about leaving us in suspense!
    Is it too intrusive to ask “What did you celebrate?”
    If my question is too intrusive, I will be quiet and please forget I asked. But if you can share, please share. The things we celebrate in life show how we value life.

    I celebrate every wonderful thing. From the new green buds on a spring morning to the falling autumn leaves. First steps, first teeth, first lost tooth, first sleepover first and second and third vegan meals… Happy moments to remember and to be fully present in.

    Hope you enjoyed, not only the celebration, but the preparation too.

    Happy presence to you my Dear and thank you again for sharing all this wonderful information with us.
    Kimxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

